L.A.-based R&B singer @BryanJmusic puts a subtle spin on @Drake’s “Controlla”

https://soundcloud.com/hogansville/controlla

BRYAN J, “Controlla”

I have plenty of Views of the 6 since I reside in Drake’s hometown and have a daughter who plays many a Drake tune when she’s with me.  So Georgia-born, L.A.-based R&B singer Bryan J’s rendition of “Controlla” definitely caught me off guard.  It’s silky smooth and in his soft vocal you can hear the many quieter sides of MJ, JT, CB, JB… and it would sound great as a featured voice within a Drake song itself!  I’m going to say right away that the beginning of the song is a bit too understated, but do stick with it because Bryan’s voice has tremendous potential and shines as he manages to transform Drake’s forceful rap into slick R&B balladry.  It’s a risky interpretation that pays off… lend a listen above.