Jamar Rogers (@jsquidward) reinterprets @therealSophieB’s “Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover” as a soulful anthem

JAMAR ROGERS, “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover”

Four years ago in Season 2 of “The Voice”, Jamar Rogers delivered A-list calibre performance after performance – particularly for me of Bon Jovi’s “It’s My Life” – which allowed him to finish in the Top 10.  Continuing on in his journey after being picked up by Tommy Boy Records last year, Jamar’s latest is a timely cover of Sophie B. Hawkins’ much revered 90’s hit “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover”.  Jamar grabs the strong soulful vibe of that song and reshapes it into an urgent soulful anthem.  For those not familiar with his other earlier songs, “Lover” is that much more different, a powerful plea with a great groove that will have you singing along and cheering all the way to the end.  Look for an album this Spring from talented Jamar.